Motorcycle Insurance Discounts

Motorcycle insurance discounts can help save you money

Rider Insurance offers the following Motorcycle Insurance and ATV/Off-Road Insurance Discounts:

Multi Bike Discount

A discount applies to all policyholders who have more than one covered vehicle on their policy at the same time.

Transfer Discount

A discount is offered on all non-sport bikes transferring coverage from another insurance company to Rider with no more than a 30-day lapse in coverage.

Preferred Operator Discount

A discount is offered to any applicant with a motorcycle driver license, age 26 and over, with a clean driving record, insuring a non-sport / non-high performance motorcycle, 576cc and over, with the Standard Plus or Premium Packages. A clean driving record is now defined as no moving violations that carry motor vehicle points and are not drug or alcohol related and no at fault accidents in the past three years.

***Rider offers Accident and Ticket Forgiveness for a minor violation or accident. We will forgive 1 two point violation or 1 at fault accident with a payout of less than $2000.

Sport Bike Safe Driver Discount

A discount is offered to any applicant, age 35 and over with a clean driving record, who is insuring a sport / high performance motorcycle, 551ccs and over with the he Standard Plus or Premium Packages. A clean driving record is now defined as no moving violations that carry motor vehicle points and are not drug or alcohol related and no at fault accidents in the past three years.

Motorcycles Only

Delaware Safe Operator Discount (Delaware Only)

In Delaware, state law mandates a 10% discount for any operator who has completed an initial defensive driving course offered by a program certified by the state. The discount is on the bodily injury/ property damage premium and the personal injury protection premium. It is good for three years. It can be increased to 15% if a refresher course is taken within 90 days before the initial three years expires.

Virginia Defensive Driver Discount (Virginia Only)

In Virginia, state law mandates a 5% discount for any operator 55 years or older who has completed an initial defensive driving course offered by a program certified by the state. The discount is on the liability and physical damage premium. It is good for three years at which time the course will need to be taken again to continue the discount.