When Do You Need Motorcycle Insurance in Pennsylvania?
Before you point your motorcycle toward the roads of beautiful Pennsylvania, you need to know the legal requirements for doing so in the Keystone State. Not only is insurance designed to protect you, your investment, and those around you, but the state outlines the exact specifications you must meet to be in good standing in the state.
Motorcycle Insurance Requirements in PA
Not surprisingly, PA requires that those who drive a motorcycle on the state’s roads have insurance before doing so. The minimum insurance requirement is liability insurance. This type only provides protection for any injuries or property damage that you cause to a third party.
What do you need to insure a motorcycle?
To insure a motorcycle, you’ll need to contact a reputable insurance company that serves the state. You will need to provide the year, make, model, and vehicle identification number (VIN) as well as your personal information to receive a quote along with a minimum payment to start the policy. Motorcycle insurance policies are typically either 6-month or 12-month terms. The minimum limits of liability required in Pennsylvania are $15,000 Bodily Injury per person, $30,000 per Accident, and $5000 in Property Damage. The state mandates that you must carry proof of insurance.
Does an ATV need insurance?
Pennsylvania requires those who drive an ATV to both register it and insure it with liability insurance. The state mandates that you must carry proof of insurance.
Does the state require UTV insurance?
PA requirements for UTVs are the same as those for ATVs. That is, you must register the vehicle with the state and carry liability insurance. You also must have proof of insurance on your person at all times when you are operating your UTV.
Do scooters need insurance?
A motor scooter is defined as a motor-driven cycle by state law. It requires that a scooter be titled, registered and insured before it can be driven on the roadways. In addition, the state maintains requirements regarding inspection and equipment that are designed to ensure that they are safe.
Do you need insurance for a moped?
A moped must have a minimum amount of liability insurance before it can be driven on the state’s roadways. The vehicle must also display a state license plate and be operated by a licensed driver who is at least 16 years of age.
Do you need insurance for a dirt bike?
To protect those people and property that are around you, the state requires that you purchase a minimum amount of liability insurance for your dirt bike.
It is important to note that the purchase of additional insurance is necessary for you to protect your equipment. For this reason, it’s best to speak with an experienced professional regarding your unique insurance needs before riding on PA’s roads.
This article has been provided for informational purposes only and is based on the most reliable information available on the date of publication.